Joshua ClaybournI am an author and attorney. I serve as corporate counsel to Vectren Corporation, an energy-holding company headquartered in Evansville, Indiana. I assist in leading regulatory approvals for company initiatives and represent the company in rulemakings and contested proceedings. I also assist with corporate and transactional law matters, including mergers and acquisitions, trademark and intellectual property law, and contract negotiations.

Prior to joining Vectren I practiced privately with a firm, focusing primarily on corporate transactional law, health care law, and regulatory compliance. I am admitted to the Indiana state bar, and the U.S. District Courts for the Southern and Northern Districts of Indiana. I earned my Juris Doctor degree from the Indiana University McKinney School of Law. Prior to law school I earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Economics and Public Policy from the Indiana University Kelley School of Business, and graduated from Evansville North High School.

I live in Newburgh, Indiana, with my wonderful wife Allyson and our dog Annie. Click here for a curriculum vitae (pdf).

Current Civic and Community Activities

  • Evansville Sports Corp, 2010 – present. Board Member and Secretary for the Evansville Sports Corp, which seeks to promote Evansville, Ind. as an attractive place to live, work, and visit through sports and sporting events that bring national and regional attention to the area.
  • Newburgh Museum, 2014 – present. Board member for the Newburgh Museum, which cares for, showcases, and interprets authentic pieces of Newburgh history.
  • Newburgh Plan Commission, 2013 – present. The Newburgh Plan Commission is the local agency designated to carry out land use planning for the Town of Newburgh and to make decisions and recommendations on zoning ordinances.
  • Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, 2013 – present. Member and National Webmaster for the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, a fraternal organization dedicated to preserving the history and legacy of Union veterans.
  • Trinity United Methodist Church, 2013 – present. Webmaster and member of administrative council for historic church located in downtown Evansville, Indiana

Past Civic and Community Activities

  • Board of Trustees, Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library, 2006 – 2009, 2011 – 2013. Past President (2009 and 2012), Treasurer (2008) and Trustee of a library system holding nearly one million items and a budget in excess of $10 million. During my term as president the library was awarded “5 Star Library” status by the Library Journal, a designation bestowed on only 1% of the nation’s public libraries.
  • Board of Directors, Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library Foundation, 2008 – 2012. The EVPL Foundation supports the library, and helps secure and provide funds for its enhancement, features and programs.
  • Transition Team, Mayor Lloyd Winnecke, 2012. Served on the transition team for the 34th Mayor of Evansville to assist in assembling department heads, including a new Chief of Police and Fire Chief.
  • Board of Directors, Mulberry Center, Inc., 2008 – 2012. The Mulberry Center is a not-for-profit corporation established to provide individual, marital, family and addictions counseling.
  • Central Committee, Vanderburgh County Republican Party, 2007 – 2011. Past Treasurer (2007-2008) and Secretary (2009-2011) of the chief Republican political organization in Evansville, Vanderburgh County, Indiana. I was first appointed Treasurer of the party in 2007 and then unanimously elected by precinct committeemen to Secretary in 2009. During my tenure on the central committee the local party improved its fiscal position, retooled its organization, and elected record setting numbers of local Republicans.
  • Board of Directors, Evansville Museum of Arts, History and Science, 2010. The Evansville Museum of Arts, History and Science is a general-interest museum with comprehensive collections in art, history, anthropology and science.
  • Chairman, Government Affairs Committee, Chamber of Commerce of Southwestern Indiana, 2010. This committee within the 1,500 member strong Chamber of Commerce worked to promote pro-business advocacy at all levels of government.

Honors, Awards and Distinctions

  • 20 Under 40. Recognized in 2010 by the Evansville Business Journal as one of 20 individuals under the age of 40 who make up the next generation of Evansville area leaders.

  • Up and Coming Lawyer. One of 15 honorees of Indiana Lawyer‘s 2007 Leadership in Law Awards. Indiana Lawyer is a leading state-wide publication for attorneys. The “Up and Coming” award is bestowed annually upon an attorney practicing five years or less who demonstrates “achievement in law, involvement in the profession, involvement in support of their community, and mentoring.”

  • Moot Court Order of Barristers. Admission granted to the top fourth of Indiana University School of Law – Indianapolis moot court competitors.

  • Various competitive speech and debate awards, including the 1999 Indiana state policy debate champion, the 2000 Indiana collegiate persuasion champion, and the National Forensic League’s highest degree of distinction.

Article Features